eglCreatePBufferSurface() bug

I’m a Qt/Embedded developer working on integrating OpenGL ES & OpenVG into our own windowing system (QWS).

We are currently using an OMAP3430 board (with the null window system SGX drivers) and the LinuxPC emulation drivers.

To get client processes to render 3D we are using PBuffer surfaces. Before we issue the QGLWidget::GLPaint event (which is where applications do their gl calls), we make the pbuffer context current, so the application’s gl calls are directed to the pbuffer. After the paint event, we grab the pbuffer pixels and copy them to a segment of shared memory using glReadPixels. Once in shared memory, an event is sent to the server, which uploads the image in shared memory to a texture (using glTexSubImage), which is then used for window composition. I realise this is far from ideal as it involves 2 extra copies, but hay, that’s all we can do with the Null driver. We don’t want to get into serializing the application’s gl calls to the server process if we can help it.

Anyway… I want to use the LinuxPC emulation libraries for testing. We have fancy GL window compositing working. However, it seems eglCreatePBufferSurface() fails with EGL_BAD_ALLOC if there is no current context. In client processes, there will be no context current when we create the pbuffer surface and we have a problem. Reading the EGL spec, it doesn’t say anything about needing to have a current context when you create a pbuffer, so I am assuming this is a bug in the LinuxPC emulation library. It seems to work fine on our OMAP3 development board.

Hi, I am sorry for the late answer, this does look like a bug in the emulation library indeed. We have fixed it but it’s only going to be publicly available from the 2.3 release which should get out sometime in August.

TomCooksey wrote: