Picking

Hello,

I am a noob at the IMG forum and at OpenGL. I have started to design a simple interface for a Smartphone for my diploma thesis, using IMG’s SDK, and I try to implement picking for 2D objects using OpenGL ES 2.0. After spending sometime searching I decided (not sure if the right choice) to try color picking. I have 2 questions:

1. Can I assign different color to each object on the screen using the same shaders?
  2. I am thinking to implement the picking in the RenderScene function calling 2 other draw functions; one with all texture etc turned off and one more which will have what I had ,before to try the picking, in the RenderScene function. Is that the right way to think or am I not even close?

Hello

if you are referring about glReadPixels ,reading pixel from BUFFER

Joe publish a good review the usage of this function,forum.imgtec.com/discussion/comment/7559/#Comment_7559

Tobias gave a very clear explanation as well !!

http://forum.imgtec.com/discussion/comment/6134/#Comment_6134

event if it is not advise for performance reason, i never been able to make it run.

GLbyte color[4];<br />
GLfloat depth;<br />
GLuint index;<br />
<br />
glReadPixels(x, WH - y - 1, 1, 1, GL_RGBA, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, color);<br />
glReadPixels(x, WH - y - 1, 1, 1, GL_DEPTH_COMPONENT, GL_FLOAT, &depth);<br />
glReadPixels(x, WH - y - 1, 1, 1, GL_STENCIL_INDEX, GL_UNSIGNED_SHORT_4_4_4_4, &index);
```<br />
<br />
<br />
I endup doing an<b> Unprojecting </b>  and it work very well.<br />
<br />
regards<br />
david g

Hi Geo,

As David has pointed out, reading back from colour buffers that the GPU has rendered can be quite costly.