Switching textures slow?

I’m relatively new to OpenGL and it’s taken me quite a while to figure out where the performance bottlenecks in it are. I thought I had them charted pretty good, until recently I read on a few places that switching textures is a slow operation on PowerVR hardware. Texture atlasses should alleviate the need for switches, but from reading the Apple OpenGLES performance guidelines and PowerVR’s “3D Application Development Recommendations” I don’t really see a recommendation to use texture atlasses to avoid switching. The suggestion to use texture atlasses is merely to reduce OpenGL calls, not explicitly about texture switches being extremely slow. Can anyone here at ImgTec shed some light on this matter?

Added: here’s an example of the type of information I find:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3212442/about-the-texture-switch-in-opengleszmippie2011-02-19 11:07:15

Hi zmippie,

Using glBindTexture shouldn't make any difference in performance besides what we've mentioned in our documentation, there is a small overhead but not a huge one. Some information out there seems to mention texture switching when using glTexture2D to reload textures which IS a slow call and should only be done when first initialising the app, for example as mentioned here: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2682261/optimizing-texture-swapping-on-opengles-for-the-iphone

This would generally be a slow operation on any device as the call loads texture data into graphics memory which is universally costly.

However, as per our documentation, reducing gl calls is always a good idea, and so Texture Atlases can be useful in this respect. It can be much quicker to have textures packed into one texture atlas rather than switching between multiple, smaller textures. This is generally most useful when using sprites but can save time in all applications and may be worth adding to your apps, especially if you have many textures.

Hope this answers your question? Thanks,

Tobias