[SOLVED] Troubles with Tutorials or Demos Bins

Hello,

i am completely new to OpenGles development, and I want to get started by running th Binary Demos and Tutorials comming with the POWERVR SDK 2.08.28.0634.
Compiling the tutorials on my own, or running the prebuild binaries gives me the following for the first Tutorial (Hello Triangle)

dlopen tries: libGL.so
Error: eglChooseConfig() failed

And the following for all others ( including demos)

PVRShell: EGL 1.3 initialized
Exit message has been set to: "PVRShell: Unable to create a context
".
InitAPI failed!
PVRShell: Unable to create a context

I am running a Linux Ubuntu 11.04 installation with an GeForce 7300 SE/7200 GS graphics card, without compiz. As i know this graphic card supports OpenGL 2.0.

Thx for you help

mapa172011-07-06 12:42:04

Hello,

i now know that the programs fail while calling eglChooseConfig() because
num_config always returns 0. I have seen some other posts int he forum about simular problems. They seem to solve this by editing pcviewer.cfg, but i cand find such file. Should pcviewer.cfg be part of a Linux SDK installation? if so, what is its content and where to i have to put it?

Thx!

Hi,

Our SDK requires that you have nvidia drivers installed for your graphic card provided by NVIDIA. By default in your ubuntu you will have probably something like nouveau (open source driver for Nvidia graphics hardware) . So this is possible reason why eglChooseConfig returning number of host configurations that supports requsted ES2 pixel format as 0. You can check with glxinfo wheather you have proper drivers installed. Let us now weather it helped.

Regards,

I’m also having issues with the eglChooseConfig. When I run HelloTriangle, it says:

Error: eglChooseConfig() failed.

When I run the Water Demo, it prints:

Exit message has been set to: “PVRShell: Unable to create a context”.

InitAPI failed!