SGX545 driver issues

Hello,

I’m posting here after previously posting on both Intel and Acer forums as these are the original suppliers, however both have been without a suitable response. I have an Acer Aspire D270 netbook, which uses the PowerVR Series 5 GPU (SGX545). The implementation on my laptop is extremely bad, I am unable to use it in the most basic 3D games without seeing many defects. I am asking for some help to improve, or possibly create an entirely new driver which would represent the best of what PowerVR hardware can do, rather than a crippled version which I believe is a very bad advert for your products. I have very little person programming experience, but if the SDK is an option for moving forward, I am more than happy to see what can be done, any support would be much appreciated.

Hi Alasdair,

I’m sorry that you’re having problem with our GPUs, but as we’ve often stated, we’re unable to do anything directly in regard to supporting 3rd party products; it’s unfortunately down to Intel/Acer to provide support here. We provide support through our licensing plans but our customers actually write the final drivers, which will additionally rely on the specific subsystems laid down by them. Our licensing plans are targeted at our customers, and are subsequently rather expensive.

Intel have chosen to target our GPUs at a specific part of the market, and the performance you’re seeing reflects that. Whilst our GPUs as a whole are capable of a lot, in this particular device it is unlikely that you would get much more out of it than you currently have.

If you did decide you wanted to attempt writing drivers, I’m afraid we can’t really help beyond the usual support we give to application developers, unless you were willing to purchase a DDK license.

Regards,

Tobias

Tobias,