Train program seg faults (remote X display only)

I’m a newbie to OpenGL.  I’m going to eventually be working with an MPC<SPAN =“highlight”>5121e board.  Until I get that board set up, I thought I’d get started with OpenGL using the Linux emulation SDK (SDK_OGLES-1.1_LINUX.tar.gz).   I compiled and ran training course programs 1-5 and all work fine.  Training course program #6 (Introducing PVR Tools), however, gets a segmentation fault.  Here’s the traceback from gdb:

Starting program: /home/brenda/linux_em/SDKPackage/TrainingCourse/06_IntroducingPVRTools/OGLES/Build/LinuxPC/ReleaseX11/OGLESIntroducingPVRTools
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread 0xb793c8d0 (LWP 23674)]
PVRShell: EGL 1.3 initialized
Profile Chosen: MBXLITE

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread 0xb793c8d0 (LWP 23674)]
0xb7e3158b in glDrawElements ()
   from /home/brenda/linux_em/SDKPackage/Builds/OGLES/LinuxPC/Lib/libGLES_CM.so
(gdb) where
#0  0xb7e3158b in glDrawElements ()
   from /home/brenda/linux_em/SDKPackage/Builds/OGLES/LinuxPC/Lib/libGLES_CM.so
#1  0x080514aa in CPVRTPrint3D::Flush ()
#2  0x0804a8ad in OGLESIntroducingPVRTools::RenderScene ()
#3  0x0804caea in PVRShellInit::Run ()
#4  0x0804dd8c in main ()
(gdb)

Any thoughts appreciated.  Not sure if it matters but I tested by openGL/X window set up with glxgears and that looked good.

Thanks,
Brenda

kbmom10082009-04-14 20:56:26

1.  Could You describe exactly the procedure that you have executed after unpacking the archive eg. command  you type to build this demo , shell variable you set (if any) before you compile and before you run demo and directory from which you are typing building command.

2. what is the full name of the archive of this SDK?.Â

3.  please  put training course nr 4 , following line:

glGetString(GL_RENDERER);

in console you should see identication of pc emulation which I would like to ask you to present here.

Looking forward to have an response from you