iPhone Version of the SDK?

I’m an iPhone/Touch developer, and I have been working with the PowerVR SDKs a little bit ever since I gave up on my near-complete .x file loader/renderer/animator (skinning’s all that’s left)… I tried to get some parts of the API to work on my Mac in an iPhone project, but it turns out that there is a lot of porting, and to my understanding, I would have to know the API pretty well to get this code to work out correctly. The truth is that I’ve only been working on it for about a day, and I would like a quick fix to get 3D objects up, rendering, and animating efficiently fairly quickly since I spent enough time trying to do everything myself. Does anyone know if there is an iPhone/MBX-Lite-specific SDK out there that I may have overlooked?

Apple are directly supporting the iPhone and there are no plans to release a POWERVR SDK for the platform at this time.

You may wish to look at http://oolongengine.com/ which is a project that is based on a fairly recent (2.2 IIRC) version of our SDK and even has converted versions of some of the POWERVR SDK examples. I watch their email list and the people using this engine are quite helpful. They might also be interested in a .x file loader/renderer/animator module and help you complete it.

That said, it is fairly easy to get many of the POWERVR SDK OpenGL ES1.1 demos and training courses running on iPhone with a little bit of porting as long as you’re familiar with Obj-C and C++ (aka Obj-C++).

The LinuxPCEmulation version is probably the closest to iPhoneOS readiness in the code, however, if you have a Windows setup and can open .sln files then the organisation of the Visual Studio projects in the WindowsPCEmulation SDK gives more indication of what you’re probably aiming to have in XCode.