Viewing POD files

Hi there,
I’m quite new to the PVR stuff so excuse me is I ask stupid things…
I am trying to do a simple viewer that loads and displays POD files; I want to export these files from Maya. I am running through several issues, and I list two of them here hoping there is an easy answer to them. Note also that i did not find any exhaustive doc about the POD format and how to use all its features; if that docs exists maybe I can find my answers there…

• How do I display color materials? If I just load the POD, the scene has all the materials exported from Maya, with the proper names and values, but the objects show up in the default grey.
  • Same for textures… Do I have to explicitly handle for each mesh its material, bind to its texture and so on? I would expect the SDK to do that for me: when a mesh is to be drawn it should in some way provide helper methods to init its stuff.
That’s it for now… thanks a lot in advance!

Luca

Hi,

Yes you are correct for each mesh you need to handle the materials yourself. For an example of loading the colour materials from a POD file see OGLESMatrixPalette and for textures see OGLESIntroducingPOD. Thanks for the suggestion of helper functions, we'll consider it for a future release.

There is a brief description of the pod format in the PVRGeoPOD documentation and the source code for the pod loading tools should be commented but if there is something you have noticed missing then please let us know.

Thanks,

Scott

Hi Scott,
Thanks for your reply. In the meantime I’ve been able to put together a basic viewer that does all that. So I can now export a scene from Maya, and render it on a N93 with proper lighting and texturing.