Blender Collada2POD Bone Animations

Hi all,

I’m just starting try to figure out a tool chain for my iPhone development projects. It needs to support textured meshes with bone animations.

In two days I was able to learn enough Blender to create a skinned and boned character model, export it to Collada, use the Collada2POD utility on that file, convert my textures from PNG to PVR, then open the POD in PVRShaman and replace the .PNG file references with the .PVR files.

All of this works and I have a textured model showing on my iPhone, nice and easy.

However, I’m trying to get animations to work and I’m new to creating animations on the editor side, and using the PVRT SDK to display animations on the programming side. Here is what I have so far:

1) In Blender 2.49b, I enter the Pose mode and rotate the bones until I get a pose I like then select the skeleton, press ‘I’ to store as a key frame with Location and Rotation data. I then move the timeline to a new frame, rinse and repeat. The animation looks great and I can even render to an AVI file and show a video of my company’s character head-banging.

2) now that I have animation data, I export to Collada format then try to run Collada2POD-- it gives a warning "WARNING: An unsupported interpolation type for animations has been found. Collada2POD only

supports: Step and Linear."

POD info says there are 168 frames but pressing the PLAY button in the viewer itterates the slider bar but the model seems static.

Looking at the .dae COLLADA file, sure enough theres a bunch of “BEZIER BEZIER BEZIER” stuff going on.

I cant figure out how I would tell Blender to interpolate LINEARLY so I look into the BLENDER->COLLADA export script and hack it to force “LINEAR” as the output (hoping the rest of the data doesn’t have to change and i’ll only have a minor descrepency in animation if my key frames are set at regular intervals).